Hatch Chile Season

Rarely is there a time I get so excited about something being in season as I do hatch chiles.  Such a versatile pepper, I picked up a few today to tinker around with, but am already pondering what to do with some bigger batches.

I’m still holding out hope for a Second Annual Astros Fan Recipe contest, and my plan is to go comfort with a mac and cheese creation.  In fact, I’ve already got a batch in the oven as we speak.  Here’s the progress:

Start with 2 pureed hatch chiles...

Combine with 8 oz pasta (dry weight - cook to al dente), 2 cups colby jack/asadero mix, 4 Tbsp. flour, 2 cups milk, and salt/pepper/cayenne to taste...

...and bake for 30 @ 350!

Big apologies to those of you out there that were expecting more green, but with a machine like a Vita-Mix, there’s just no chunks left.  But what you get is an even, peppery goodness throughout the whole dish.  My only complaint is the cheese consistency.  A little too…curdled?  No, that’s not the word, but you know what I mean.  I think next time I’ll try something different in place of the colby jack.  Not sure what, but it wasn’t the greatest.

Overall, great dish.  Spicy, but not too spicy, and just cheesy enough not to make your tummy miserable.  Next time, I’d add tomatoes.

This entry was published on August 29, 2010 at 10:33 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

