It’s the little things…

that are so daunting and yet so freaking cool when you accomplish them.  Tonight’s example?  Chicken gravy.  From drippings.  I didn’t feel like a long night in the kitchen – what, after my first attempt at a peach cobbler EVER this afternoon – so I slid some butter under chicken skin, threw on some John Besh Creole seasoning (GREAT standby seasoning, will post the recipe below!  I keep a bottle of it mixed in the pantry at all times) and let the oven do its magic.  But between the cobbler and chicken skin, the munchies didn’t stop.  So…I decided to do something that I’d only seen my Granny successfully do.  Make gravy.

My first ever peach cobbler...needed butter on top and sugar inside. Bummer.

Now, I don’t have a fat separator, so I used a mesh handheld colander to separate the fat from the liquid.  I put the liquid into my handy dandy Demeyere conical saucepan, brought to a boil over high, and whisked in a combo of cold water and cornstarch.  Add a little salt and pepper, and voila! Seemingly flawless, simple gravy!  I’m telling you folks, these days, it’s the little things.

I promised the Besh seasoning too, didn’t I?  Here it is…keep a bottle in your pantry!!!

John Besh Basic Creole Spices

2 tsp. celery salt

1 tbsp. sweet paprika

1 tbsp. coarse sea salt

1 tbsp. freshly ground black pepper

1 tbsp. garlic powder

1 tbsp. onion powder

2 tsp. cayenne powder

1/2 tsp. ground allspice

Mix it all together and store in an airtight container.  Great on chicken, fish, steak, and splendid in crab stuffed tomatoes (you’ll have to see Besh’s My New Orleans book for that one!)

This entry was published on August 23, 2010 at 8:27 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

