Cook the Book #5 – Pan-fried Calamari with Roasted Asparagus Salad

I’m playing catchup on my Cook the Book progress tonight.  I’ve been good about uploading my pics to Facebook, and adding my creations to Curtis Stone’s fan photo page.  I keep hoping I might get a message from him one day about my venture to cook his book, but I’m sure that’s just a wish.  But anyways…a few days ago I worked a closing shift at the boutique, and working the 5-10 means no break.  At dinner.  I wanted something light, but filling.  Not fried, a little green.  So I picked the Pan-fried Calamari with Roasted Asparagus Salad.  Odd combo, right?

Surprisingly good combo is more like it!  This salad was very clean and fresh – perfect for a mid-day, almost dinner meal.  The calamari was marinated in lime juice, shallot, and serrano peppers for an hour before being sauteed – almost a ceviche with a quick flip of the pan at the end.

Meanwhile, the asparagus are roasted with nothing but sea salt and pepper.  To serve, the asparagus and calamari are tossed with a vinaigrette of nothing more than lime juice and olive oil over baby greens.  Simply marvelous.

Grade: B+

Lesson Learned: How to make a tasty wilted salad (which I’m normally not too fond of!)

This entry was published on August 23, 2010 at 7:41 pm. It’s filed under Cook the Book - Relaxed Cooking with Curtis Stone and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

