Cook the Book #3 – Cinnamon French Toast with Caramelized Peaches

The other night I worked a late shift at my store – and by late, I mean home at 10:30 pm late.  Not typically the time of night I want to be cooking, but we had fresh peaches in the fridge and a recipe from Curtis’ book I was dying to try – Cinnamon French Toast with Caramelized Peaches.  Sounded like the perfect late night dinner/snack.  The biggest test for me was making the caramel sauce – I don’t do anything that involves melting chocolate or sugar, and the topping on this toast was nothing but caramel and peaches.  Tell me what you think:

I think I did pretty well!  Of course, I give a lot of credit to my pan – it’s a Demeyere frying pan and I LOVE it!  To switch into work mode, the beauty of Demeyere cookware is that – not only does each piece have a 7 layer conductive construction – with thickness adjusted to the typical cooking process.  So, a frying pan or conical sauce pan will have conductive material all the way up the side of the pan.  For a frying pan, that’s to increase the frying space by 50%.  For a sauce pan, that means even cooking for delicate sauces such as a hollandaise.   Straight-sided pans only have the material on the bottom, so no heat is pushed out into the kitchen.  Overall, most even cooking cookware I’ve ever used – and I also have All-Clad Copper Core.

Anyways, it was late, and shame on me for not getting pictures in between start and finish, but here’s the final dish:

The recipe called for brioche, which I couldn’t find, so I substituted good ‘ol Texas Toast.  The toast is dredged in cinnamon sugar, topped with the caramelized peaches, and finished with a dollop of creme fraiche.   Nothing but sugary, peachy, syrupy goodness.  Finish that off with a warm bath and you’re a goner for the night.

Grade: A+++

Lesson Learned:  How to caramelize sugar

This entry was published on July 20, 2010 at 2:40 pm. It’s filed under Cook the Book - Relaxed Cooking with Curtis Stone and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

